Welcome to our docs site. Docs on this site are for ACP version 9.
See these links for previous versions: Version 8, Version 7

Platform Access

The Security> Platform Access menu in the SOC allows you to manage Platform access for Development Teams, Platform Operators, Tenants (including the Tenant/Account Administrator), and Users.

Managing Development Team Access

This page displays a list of all Development Teams registered on your Platform. This list includes each team’s display Name and identifying Alias

By default, the Apprenda Platform allows any Development Team to register for access through the log in page. To have more control over which Development Teams are allowed to use the Platform, you can switch from Open Signup to Invite Only Signup. The invite only most means Development Team must provide an invite code before being allowed to register. After switching to invite only signup, an option to generate invite codes to provide to a Development Team appears at the top of the Development Teams list.

To toggle the signup mode, select click the Switch to Invite Only Signup or Switch to Open Signup button.

If your Platform is configured to require an invite code prior to registration, use the Generate button to create a single-use token. The Number of Invite Codes counter keeps track of how many codes have generated.

Once the invite code has been generated, send the token to the Development Team to use when registering.

Managing Platform Operator Access

If SOC authorization is enabled on your Platform, users who want to be Platform Operators need to be granted access to the SOC. To view a list of current Users who have access to the SOC, and to add or remove Users to/from this list, visit the Security> Platform Access> Platform Operators page.

The list of Platform Operators displays the user’s First Name, Last Name, Group Name, and Email All users on the Platform Operators list can access the SOC when they are logged in to the Platform. 

To authorize an existing Apprenda Platform User to access the SOC, click the Add an Existing User button. Then select a user from the list in the window that appears.  Click Save, and the User will be added to the Platform Operators list.  If your Platform is configured to use an External User Store, you will be able to authorize whole user Groups to access the SOC by clicking the Add an Existing User or Group button and the selecting “Group” at the top of the subsequent window to view a list of available Groups to add.

To revoke a user’s SOC access, select that User on the list, and click the Delete Selected Operator button. After you confirm the operation, that user will no longer have access the SOC (a necessary restriction is that you will not be able to delete the user you are currently logged in as).

Note: On fresh installations of the Platform, two Users, the Apprenda Administrator and the Platform Operator initially designated during installation, are the only Users designated as Platform Operators. The Apprenda Administrator account is required for internal Platform operations and cannot be removed from this list.  After installation, if SOC authorization has been enabled on your environment, the specified Platform Operator is initially the only other User who can access the SOC. Through this page, that Platform Operator can add new Platform Operators to the list, and those users will inherit the same add/delete privileges.

Managing Tenant Access

To view a list of all Tenants (including Development Teams) on the Platform, navigate to the Security> Platform Access> Tenants page.

For each Tenant you will see the corresponding Tenant Alias, the number of Users that belong to the Tenant, the number Apps owned (if the Tenant is also a Development Team), Tenant/Account Admin name and Admin Contact,and State.

A Tenant’s State can be either Enabled or Disabled. Enabled means that enabled users that belong to the Tenant are able to access the Platform through the Tenant. If the Tenant is a Development Team, applications may be run. Disabled means that all users that belong to the Tenant are not able to access the Platform through the Tenant (but may still do so through any other active Tenants they belong). If the Tenant is a Development Team, all of its applications are stopped.

To Disable an Enabled Tenant

Disabling a Tenant will block all user access to the Platform through that Tenant. The Platform will stop any applications owned by the Tenant.

  1. Select a Tenant by clicking on its row in the Tenant list.
  2. Click on the Disable Selected Tenant button.
  3. On the confirmation prompt, click the OK button.

To Enable a Disabled Tenant

Enabling a disabled Tenant will allow active users that belong tot he Tenant to access the Platform through that Tenant. Any applications owned by the Tenant will have to be manually restarted before they can be accessed.

  1. Select a Tenant by clicking on its row in the Tenant list.
  2. Click on the Enable Selected Tenant button.
  3. On the confirmation prompt, click the OK button.

To Delete a Tenant

Deleting a Tenant will delete all applications and subscriptions owned by the Tenant. Any User that is not associated with another Tenant will also be deleted. This action cannot be undone.

Deleting a Tenant will also delete all Utilization and Billing data related to that Tenant. If this data be needed for posterity, extract it from the Apprenda Utilization and SaaSGrid Billing databases before the Tenant is deleted.

  1. Select a Tenant by clicking on its row in the Tenant list.
  2. Click on the Delete Selected Tenant button.
  3. On the confirmation prompt, click the OK button.

Note that deleting Tenants and users through the SOC is not supported on Platform installs that use an External User Store. Any additions/removals of Users and Tenants should be done through the External User Store itself.

To change the Tenant/Account Administrator for a Tenant

A Tenant can change its Tenant/Account Administrator in the Account Portal. As needed, this designation can also be changed from this section of the SOC.

To change a Tenant Administrator, click Edit next to the Tenant you want to update.

In the Edit Tenant Admin window,

  1. If needed, Search for the user you want to be the new Tenant Administrator
  2. Once you have found the appropriate user, select the user by clicking on its row in the user list.
  3. Click the Save button.

Tenant/Development Team Alias Specifications

Tenant and Development Team aliases must meet the following requirements to be created on the Platform:

  • Contain only letters and numbers (no special characters)
  • Less than 32 characters long

Managing User Access

To view a list of all Users on the Platform, navigate to Security> Platform Access> Users. From this page you can enabled, disable, or delete a user.

For each User you will see the corresponding First Name, Last Name, Email, the  Tenants to which the User belongs, and State. A user can have a state of Enabled or Disabled at Platform Level. Enabled means the user is able to access the Platform. The user may still be blocked from enabling the Platform through a specific Tenant depending on settings configured by that Tenant through the Account Portal. Disabled at Platform Level means the User is unable to access the Platform through any Tenant.

To Disable an Enabled User

Disabling a user prevents the user from accessing the Platform. Any subscriptions assigned to this user will remain assigned to the user. You may re-enable access for this user at any time.

  1. Select a user by clicking on its row in the list
  2. Click on the Disable Selected User button.
  3. On the confirmation prompt, click the OK button.

To Enable a Disabled User

Enabling a disabled User will allow the user to access the Platform through any Tenant to which they belong (and for which their access has not been disabled through the Account Portal).

  1. Select a User by clicking on its row in the User list.
  2. Click on the Enable Selected User button.
  3. On the confirmation prompt, click the OK button.

To Delete a User

Deleting a user will remove the user from the Platform completely. Any subscriptions assigned to the user will be unassigned. This action cannot be undone (although the user may be re-added to the Platform as a new user by a Tenant).

  1. Select a User by clicking on its row in the User list.
  2. Click on the Delete Selected User button.
  3. On the confirmation prompt, click the OK button.

Note that deleting Tenants and users through the SOC is not supported on Platform installs that use an External User Store. Any additions/removals of Users and Tenants should be done through the External User Store itself.