Welcome to our docs site. Docs on this site are for ACP version 9.
See these links for previous versions: Version 8, Version 7

Publishing Updated Entitlement Definitions

Publishing an Updated Entitlement Definition for an Existing Application Version (For Applications with Multi-tenancy Only)

Please note: Multiple Entitlement Definitions can only be created for applications with Multi-tenancy enabled. For information about publishing updated Entitlement Definitions for new versions of applications with Authorization, please see the “Updating Entitlement Definitions for a New Version of an Application” section below.

To permit you to introduce fundamentally different definition options for an application with Multi-tenancy, it is possible to have multiple Entitlement Definitions for an application version, although only one can be published at any given time.  A new definition scheme with different appearance, plans, and inclusion options can be created from your application’s Entitlement Definitions page by either making a copy of an existing Entitlement Definition (and then making your desired changes), or starting from scratch by creating a new Entitlement Definition. Once you have established your desired Entitlement Definition, simply publish the new Entitlement Definition, which will automatically unpublish the existing Entitlement Definition.  This makes it easy to introduce a new plan that was not foreseen when the original Entitlement Definition was published, or to add non-Feature Components.  Please note: it is always possible to re-publish Entitlement Definitions that were previously published, as they remain catalogued in the Entitlement Definitions list even after they are replaced as the active Entitlement Definition. The impact of publishing a new Entitlement Definition is that the Entitlement Definition that was previously displayed to prospective subscribers is changed to the newly published Entitlement Definition, and all new subscriptions to the application will reflect this pricing.

While you may publish a new Entitlement Definition at any time, Tenants with existing subscriptions from an Entitlement Definition will continue to access the application and its Features according to the Entitlement Definition from which selected their subscriptions, and will only be able to add subscriptions from that Entitlement Definition.

Updating Entitlement Definitions for a New Version of an Application

Should you create a new version of an application, all Entitlement Definitions from the earlier version will be initially copied to the new version.  This gives you the option of using the Entitlement Definitions from the currently Published application version as a starting point in configuring Entitlement Definitions for your new version.  Should you choose, you can also create new Entitlement Definitions for this version.  For applications with only Authorization enabled, the previously published Entitlement Definition will be copied for the new version of the application, and can be edited and updated before it is published.  The impact of publishing a new Entitlement Definition is that the Entitlement Definition that was previously displayed to potential subscribers is changed to the Entitlement Definition that is published in the new version once it is promoted to the Published stage, and all new subscriptions to the application will reflect the new Entitlement Definition.

Tenants with existing subscriptions, however, are tied to the Entitlement Definition from which they initially added their subscriptions.  Should you make changes to an existing Entitlement Definition in a new version, your existing customers will see their subscriptions migrated to the new application version and the appropriate Entitlement Definition once you Publish the new version of your application.

Changes made to existing plans will take effect if the new application version is Published.  For instance, if a Component that was previously Included is marked as Not Included, your Tenants will not longer have access to that component.  Likewise, if a new Component is added and marked as Included for a plan, existing Users will have access to that Component once the new application version is promoted to the Published Stage.