The Developer Portal is an interface designed to allow Developers and place to create, view, and manage their Platform applications. It optimizes basic application management workflows, exposing an intuitive Platform structure that cuts down on task completion time and minimizes complexity.
To access the Developer Portal, you must have an active Platform account and be assigned a subscription to the Developer Portal. Read more about access requirements for the Developer Portal. Contact your Account Administrator if you have questions about your access to the Developer Portal.
The top navigation menu of the Developer Portal can be accessed by clicking on the icon in the upper right-hand corner, which will cause a top menu bar to drop down:
The Access Addition Controls link will take you to the Additional Controls section of the Developer Portal, which contains workflows that are not yet available in the main section of the Developer Portal. The Help menu lists useful links to documentation and sample guest applications. You will also see the Log Out button next to the name of the current user. You may click on the icon again should you wish to hide this menu.
The left sidebar lists the primary navigation icons for the Developer Portal. The Applications option will take you to a list of extant applications for your Development Team, where you can drill down into each application. You may also use the App List-App Logs toggle in the upper right-hand corner to switch to the Application Logs page, where you can view and manage logs and log overrides for all applications owned by your Development Team. The Add-Ons icon in the left sidebar links to the controls for viewing, provisioning, and managing Add-On instances for your Development Team.
The bottom menu bar allows you to create a new application from any part of the main section of the Developer Portal.
For application versions in the Sandbox or Published stages, an application version’s Dashboard tab provides an overview of crucial information and settings related to the app version, as well as exposing application management tasks via the bottom menu bar:
Information about your application version provided on this screen may vary depending on Platform-wide settings, but potentially include the following:
By clicking the Stop button on the bottom menu bar, you are able to “stop” your application. This means that all workloads associated with the application’s components will be undeployed, and the app will be unreachable for all client requests. After choosing “Yes” at the confirmation prompt, the Apprenda Platform will undeploy all related workloads, and the app’s status will now appear as “Stopped.” To restart the application at any time, simply click the Start button in the bottom menu bar, which will result in workloads being redeployed and the application again being accessible to client requests.
Without going through the process of subscription assignment or navigating to the Account Portal, you are able to launch your application directly from the application’s Dashboard by clicking the Launch button in the bottom menu bar. This will launch the application in a new browser tab.
If an application is in the definition stage, you are able to export an application and all of its currently-defined settings by clicking the Export button in the bottom menu bar. After clicking the button, you will be prompted to select one of three options:
If your application has a Java Web Application component, you are able to place the application into Debug mode by clicking the Start Debug button in the bottom menu bar. Once you choose “Yes” on the confirmation prompt, all currently-deployed Java Web App instances will be undeployed, and a single one will be redeployed in Debug mode, which simply means that the deployed instance will allow connections from debuggers. After the app has entered Debug mode, connection information will be displayed on the Dashboard tab, and you are able to use the connection string to hook onto the running instance with the debugger of your choice:
To take the application out of Debug mode, click the Stop Debug button in the bottom menu bar; the Debug instance will be undeployed, and previously undeployed workloads will be redeployed to place your app back in its normal running state.
If an application is in the Definition stage, you can delete your application by clicking the Delete button in the bottom menu bar. If more than one version of your application exists, you will then be prompted to choose whether to delete the currently-viewed version only, or to delete the application as a whole. If only one application version exists, you can choose only to delete the app as a whole. After selecting an option, then clicking “Yes” at the confirmation prompt, your application/app version will be permanently deleted.
When an application version is In Maintenance, end user access to the application is temporarily suspended and users will be redirected to a Maintenance page when attempting to launch the application.
An application version may enter the In Maintenance status in one of the following ways:
Should you encounter an application version in this status, it is recommended that you contact your Platform Operator or DBA to diagnose and resolve the issue. Once you have determined that any necessary changes have been made and that all databases for the application are fully operational, you may click on the Restore button to restore end user access (in cases where a failed rollback has triggered the In Maintenance status, access to the previous version, not the patched version, will be restored).
The Developer Portal is optimized for Chrome. When viewing in IE, a Security setting of “Medium High” is recommended. If this is not permitted by corporate guidelines, at a minimum the following settings must be enabled in your browser: Active scripting, Font download, File download. If you are using a later version of IE, make sure that Emulation mode is set to Edge. The minimum resolution for viewing the Development Portal is 1280x1024.
A refresh button can be found on some Developer Portal pages. The refresh button allows Developers to refresh the data on the page being viewed, as it may have been changed through normal Platform activities (such as scaling) or the actions of other Developers or Platform Operators. The refresh button can be found in the upper right corner of applicable pages along with the time that has elapsed since the data on the page was last refreshed.