This is documentation for the current major version Apprenda 7.
Older versions are also available.

Platform Add-Ons

In order to extend the Apprenda Platform's default functionality, guest applications on the Platform can access and consume plug-in service modules called Add-Ons, which can be configured for availability on a per-Development Team basis (for more information on how Development Teams interact with existing Add-Ons, see here).  The following documentation covers the creation of new Add-Ons, as well as how to configure new Add-Ons, and finally how to manage existing Add-Ons.  

Please Note:

.NET Services hosted on the Platform run by default under the Apprenda System Account.  For security reasons, it is possible to configure services and UIs to run under more limited user accounts. In most cases, these accounts do not require access to the Platform shares; however, in order for Platform Add-On creation to function properly, the user account under which the Apprenda Extensibility Service runs must have read access to the AddOns folder created during installation within the Apprenda share.  If the Apprenda Extensibility Service is configured to run under a user account that does not have full access to the Platform shares, read-only share and security access to the folder for the account under which this service will run should be configured after Platform installation is complete.

Creating a New Add-On

From the System Operations Center, under the Configuration heading in the top menu, select Platform Add-Ons.  This will take you to the Add-Ons Management page, which displays a list of available Add-Ons and their accompanying information.  To add an Add-On to this list, click the New Add-On button in the upper right, which will open the New Add-On dialogue window:

First, enter an Alias for the new Add-On, and then click Browse... to select an existing Add-On archive (for more information on creating Add-On archives, see here).  Once an archive is selected, click Upload.

Once the archive has been validated and uploaded, a confirmation screen with a success message should appear, click Close to return to the Add-On Management page.  Your Add-On should now appear on the list:

Configuring an Add-On

Click on the Edit button to the right of an existing Add-On, and you will be able to edit its settings in the window that appears:

On the General settings tab, you can view any metadata that was attached to the uploaded Add-On archive at the top, and you can edit the Description and Deployment Notes for the Add-On.  You can also choose to enable or disable the Add-On by checking or unchecking the Enabled box.  Next, you can choose a Location as a working directory for the Add-On to perform actions such as storing data or deploying instances (these actions will vary depending on what the Add-On is designed to do).  Finally, if the Add-On requires authentication information, enter that User and Password information at the bottom.

Please Note: When a specific Add-On is disabled, Development Teams will no longer be able to provision additional instances of that Add-On or de-provision existing instances.  However, Dev Teams will continue to have access to any Add-On instances that they have already provisioned.

Next, select the Configuration tab:

This tab lists any Additional Parameters that were defined for the Add-On in its archive; you can edit the values for these parameters here by clicking the pencil icon to the right of a parameter and entering a new value.

Finally, select the Access tab:

From this tab, you can choose to restrict Dev Team Access by selecting Restricted, and then checking the box next to the name of all Development Teams to whom you'd like to grant access for this particular Add-On.  You can also set the number of Max Instances of the Add-On that an individual Development Team is allowed to have provisioned at a time.  When the Add-On's settings have been configured to your liking, click Save.

Please Note: When access is restricted to exclude a specific Development Team, that Dev Team will no longer be able to provision additional instances of that Add-On or de-provision existing instances.  However, the Dev Team will continue to have access to any Add-On instances that it has already provisioned.

Managing Add-Ons

When selecting the drop-down menu next to an existing Add-On, several options are presented:

To view all provisioned instances of the Add-On, select View Instances, and a window with a list of all provisioned instances, as well as additional corresponding information, will appear:

To test an Add-On (as in, to provision and then de-provision it as a Development Team would), select Test from the drop-down menu, and the Test Add-On window will appear:

From this window, you can enter any required or optional parameter values you wish to pass to the provisioned instance of the Add-On. Please note that the parameters listed will be limited to those defined in the Add-On Manifest; you will not be able to test user-defined parameters. 

Click Test Add-On, and an instance of the Add-On will be provisioned and de-provisioned.  A success message should appear; click Close to return to the Add-On Management screen.

To update an Add-On archive, select Update from the drop-down menu.  From the resulting window, you can select the archive to use for the update, and you can also choose whether to retain the Add-On's existing configuration by checking the appropriate box:

Click Upload to use the selected archive to update the Add-On; a success message should subsequently appear.

Deleting Add-Ons

​An Add-On cannot be deleted if there are provisioned instances belonging to one or more Development Teams. If it is necessary to delete an Add-On, a Platform Operator should Disable the Add-On (which will prevent the future provisioning of instances) and then contact related Development Teams directly in order to arrange the deprovisioning of extant instances.

To delete an existing Add-On, select Delete from the drop-down menu, and then click OK to confirm the deletion. If there no provisioned instances of the Add-On, the deletion will be successful; if provisioned instances exist, the SOC will return a list of Development Teams that own provisioned instances.