This is documentation for Apprenda 7 and 8.
Documentation for newer version is available at https://new.docs.apprenda.com.

Assigning, Revoking and Reassigning User Subscriptions for an Application

Assigning User Subscriptions for an Application

Account and Concurrent subscriptions cannot be assigned, as they are associated and shared among the Organization Account.  User subscriptions must be assigned to Apprenda Users in order for Users to access the application.

To Assign User Subscriptions:

Select the Applications option from the menu bar at the top of the screen.  This will take you to the Your Applications page. On the left side of the Your Applications matrix, you will see a list of all the related applications to which your Organization subscribes, as well as the names of their corresponding application providers.

A note on your Account Portal as an application: You may notice that your Account Portal is listed among the other applications to which your Organization subscribes.  This is because the Account Portal’s functions have been configured so that you can manage them in the same way and from the same place that you manage the functions of any of your other applications.  Because a subscription to the Account Portal is automatically created and assigned to each Apprenda User Account you create, you will not have to assign subscriptions for the Account Portal to the User Accounts you manage. 

 

To select the application for which you would like to assign subscriptions, click on the corresponding Subscriptions & Usage icon to the right of the name of your selected application.  This will take you to a Subscriptions & Usage page for that particular application.

Reminder: A Subscription Group is a collection of subscriptions that are all part of the same plan, have the same optional Features, and share the same renewal unit (e.g., daily, monthly, yearly, etc.)

In the table to the right you will see a list of the different types of subscriptions your Organization has acquired for this application, which have automatically been sorted into Subscription Groups. By sorting your subscriptions into groups, your Account Portal allows you to more easily overview not only the Total number of subscriptions you have purchased, but also the number and type of subscriptions you have Allocated, and the number and type of subscription Vacancies available for you to assign to Users.  

For Apprenda Platform instances with External User Store enabled: if your Platform instance is set to use an External User Store, you will also see a Groups table to the right.  This table lists all the Groups (which are groupings of Users defined in the External User repository) that has access to the application.  To add a Group to this list, click the Add Groups link in the table.  You will be prompted with a list of existing Groups; select the groups you want to add, and click the Add button to grant those groups access to the application.

To view and manage subscriptions within a Subscription Group, click on the appropriate Group Name.  This will direct you to a Profile page for that Subscription Group.

To view or assign individual subscriptions, click on either the Subscriptions icon listed on the top right menu, or the View Subscriptions option under the Subscription Breakdown section in the upper right portion of the Group Profile box. This will take you to a page that lists each individual subscription in this Group:

In the table to the right you will see all subscriptions in that group listed individually by subscription number.  The Assigned To column to the right of the corresponding subscription number is initially blank, indicating that the subscription is vacant and can be assigned to a User; once a User is assigned to this subscription, the User’s name will appear in this column.   

This table also lists the Status of each subscription.  Subscriptions listed as Active are available for immediate use.  A status of Canceled indicates that the subscription has been permanently discontinued.  You can assign subscriptions that are listed as Suspended; however, subscriptions must be listed as Active in order for Users to access the application.

There are two ways to assign individual subscriptions:

  1. You can automatically assign select Users to vacant subscriptions. This will randomly assign the Users you have selected to vacant subscriptions on your subscription list.
  2. You can assign specific Users to specific subscriptions.  This option allows you to take into consideration characteristics of specific subscriptions, such as the number of features that remain.

To automatically assign select Users randomly chosen vacant subscriptions, look at the User Auto Assignment box on the bottom left of the page:

  1. Click on the name of the User(s) you wish to assign from the list provided.  This list contains the name of all Users who do not currently have a subscription to the application.
  2. Select one or more Users (up to the number of vacant subscriptions available) from the list.
  3. Click the Auto Assign button.

To assign specific Users to specific subscriptions, click on the selected subscription from those listed under the Subscription heading of the Subscriptions box. This will direct you to a Subscription Profile page for the individual subscription:

To assign a User to this subscription, click on the Actions icon listed on the top right menu.  This will bring up the Subscription Actions page.  If the subscription is unassigned, you will see a Subscriptions Assignment section in the Subscription Actions box.

In the type-ahead search field that appears, hit (Ctrl + space) to see the name of all Users who do not currently have a subscription to this particular application.  To select a User for this subscription, click on the User name.  Then, click on the Assign Subscription button.  Once you have completed this process, the User will have immediate access to the application.

To search for a particular User Account, type part of the User’s name or e-mail address in the field, which will return all User Accounts that meet your search criteria and which do not already have a subscription to the application. To select a User for this subscription, click on the User name.  Then, click on the Assign Subscription button.  Once you have completed this process, the User will have immediate access to the application.

Revoking and Reassigning Individual User Subscriptions

Once you have assigned an individual subscription to a User, you have the option of revoking subscription access from that User and, if desired, reassigning it to another User.

To revoke access to an assigned subscription, navigate to the Subscription Actions page for the individual subscription for which you would like to revoke access.  In the Subscription Actions box, you will see the name of the User who has been assigned the subscription:

Click on the Revoke Access link beneath the Subscription Assignment heading, and the subscription will no longer be assigned to that User.  The subscription will immediately be available to reassign to another User.

To reassign a subscription to another User, follow the same process used to initially assign subscriptions to a User..