This is documentation for Apprenda 7 and 8.
Documentation for older versions are also available.

Test and Publish Your Application

This page describes how to promote your application on the Platform. Before promoting an application, you should understand the Application Lifecycle on the Platform.

Promoting to the Sandbox stage

In order to promote Version 1 of your application from the Definition stage to the Sandbox stage, the following must be completed:

  1. You must successfully upload an Apprenda Application Archive for the application version.
  2. You must configure the Application Settings for the application, as well as any version-specific settings.
  3. You must set an active Entitlement Definition for applications with Authorization or Multi-tenancy (currently, this must be done through the Additional Controls section of the Developer Portal).

Once these steps have been completed, you can promote Version 1 to the Sandbox stage. From your application version's Dashboard tab, click the Promote button on the bottom menu bar:

Promoting to the Sandbox stage may take a few minutes, as Apprenda validates all included application components during this process. At this time Apprenda also deploys these elements to ensure that they will work. This includes inspecting database scripts for illegal statements as well as launching instances of .NET services, Windows Services, and/or Java Web Applications if they are included in the archive.

During this process, you will be directed to a Promotion Status page that provides a report card that outlines the steps required to promote the specific application version.

The page will update as each step is completed and will include a record of how long each step took to complete.

Should any of the necessary promotion steps fail, they will be noted on the report card. A failed step will be retried up to five times; however, if any step fails five times, the promotion process will stop and will be noted as a failure. Any errors noted in the report card must be resolved before the application version can successfully be promoted to the Sandbox stage. For convenience, a link to the Application Logs page is included at the bottom of the report card.

Stopping a Promotion

To stop a promotion in progress, click on the Stop button on the bottom bar of the Promotion Status page. After confirming the action on the confirmation prompt, the promotion will be stopped and the steps necessary to return the application version to its previous state—a process known as “rollback”—will appear on the report card:

The report card will update progress of the rollback steps and will record the time required to complete each step. Once the rollback process is complete, you may return to the Application Dashboard in order to make changes to the application version.

Using the Testing Sandbox

Once your application has been promoted to the Sandbox stage, Apprenda offers two ways to launch it.  First, from the application version's Dashboard tab, a Launch button will appear in the bottom menu bar.  Clicking this button will launch the Sandbox version of your application.  Second, for applications deployed with Authorization or Multi-tenancy, you can access your application through the Testing Sandbox.  In order to replicate how your application will appear to your Tenants, the Testing Sandbox is located in the Applications page of your Account Portal (to access your Account Portal, you must first navigate to the Additional Controls section and then click on the Manage Your Organization link):

When Version 1 is promoted to the Sandbox stage, Apprenda will automatically create one test subscription for each plan listed in the active Version 1 Entitlement Definition and will assign the subscription for the first plan listed in the Entitlement Definition to the User who promoted the application to the Sandbox stage.

Additional test subscriptions can be added through the Add Subscriptions for Testing icon to the right of the application name on the Applications page of the Account Portal.  Additional subscriptions can be assigned to Users by means of the corresponding Subscriptions & Usage icon.  To add and assign subscriptions, you must be either an Account Administrator, or you must be assigned to a Role that has permission to that Securable in the Account Portal.  For details on assigning subscriptions and Account Portal Securables, see Using the Account Portal.

Demoting an Application Version Sandbox to Definition

Should you run into issues that require you to alter any application settings that are immutable in the Sandbox stage, you must first demote Version 1 to the Definition stage. To demote an application version, navigate to the application version's Dashboard tab in the Developer Portal.  Then click on the Demote button that appears on the bottom menu bar. You will be directed to a Demotion Status page where you can monitor the progress of the demotion:

Once the version has successfully been demoted to the Definition state, you will be able to make your necessary changes and then repeat the process for promoting Version 1 to the Sandbox stage.

Publishing an Application

As with the process for promoting your application to the Sandbox stage, you can promote Version 1 to the Published stage via the Promote button on the bottom menu bar of the application version's Dashboard tab. The report card and Stop controls will work the same as they did while the application was promoted to Sandbox, although the list of necessary tasks will include items specific to a promotion to the Published stage.

Once Version 1 has been successfully promoted to the Published stage, your application can be made available for end user access. In addition, the application, along with all test subscriptions, will be removed from your Testing Sandbox on the Applications page of your Account Portal.

NOTE: Once an application has been Published, a version of the application must always be in the Published stage.  Because of this, you cannot demote an application that is in the Published stage; however, when a new version of the application is promoted from the Sandbox stage to the Published stage, the version currently in Published will automatically be Archived.

Testing Published Applications

When an application version reaches the Published stage, you will still be able to launch it by using the Launch button on the bottom menu bar of the application version's Dashboard tab.

In order to allow other Users to test the Published application, you will need to assign subscriptions or access to those Users through the methods available in the Legacy Developer Portal (these methods are described in the How Tenants Access Your Applications documentation).  For applications with Multi-tenancy, you can add test subscriptions for a version of an application that is Published through the Add Subscriptions for Testing link that appears next to its listing in the Application Overview page in the Additional Controls section of the Developer Portal. The application will then appear in the Your Applications matrix of your Applications page in the Account Portal, where subscriptions can be assigned to Users.

Promoting Patched Versions of an Application

When a patched version of an application is promoted using the Promote button from the Application Dashboard, the user will be directed to the Promotion Status page. However, if a patched version is promoted using the Target Stage option on the Patch tab, the user will not be redirected to the Promotion Status page.

Accessing the Developer Portal During a Promotion

During application promotion a user may navigate among the Developer Portal controls for other applications and may even promote a different application at the same time as the initial promotion. The controls for an application that is undergoing a promotion or demotion, however, will be restricted, and the user will be redirected to the Promotion or Demotion Status page when attempting to access said application version.

Should another user from the same Development Team attempt to access an application version that is undergoing a promotion or demotion, that user will also be redirected to the Promotion or Demotion Status page.