This is documentation for Apprenda 7 and 8.
Documentation for older versions are also available.

The Application Dashboard Overview

For application versions in the Sandbox or Published stages, an application version's Dashboard tab provides an overview of crucial information and settings related to the app version, as well as exposing application management tasks via the bottom menu bar:

Information about your application version provided on this screen may vary depending on Platform-wide settings, but potentially include the following:

  • Status: Tracks whether the app version is in the "Running", "Stopped", or "Published - In Maintenance" or "Sandbox - In Maintenance" state.
  • Total Memory/CPU/Storage: Displays the combined allocation for app components as defined by the Resource Policies/Storage Quotas assigned to those components.
  • Events by Type/Time: Displays log messages of different levels generated by your application over a specific period.
  • Application Uptime: Tracks the accumulated instance-hours of uptime totaled by all deployed instances of all components of the application.

Starting/Stopping an Application

By clicking the Stop button on the bottom menu bar, you are able to "stop" your application; this simply means that all workloads associated with the application's components will be undeployed, and the app will be unreachable for all client requests.  After choosing "Yes" at the confirmation prompt, the Apprenda Platform will undeploy all related workloads, and the app's status will now appear as "Stopped."  To restart the application at any time, simply click the Start button in the bottom menu bar, which will result in workloads being redeployed and the application again being accessible to client requests.

Launching an Application

Without going through the process of subscription assignment or navigating to the Account Portal, you are able to launch your application directly from the application's Dashboard by clicking the Launch button in the bottom menu bar.  This will launch the application in a new browser tab.

Exporting an Application*

You are able to export your application and all of its currently-defined settings by clicking the Export button in the bottom menu bar.  After clicking the button, you will be prompted to select one of three options:

  • You can choose to export the Application Package + Manifest, which will allow you to save the application locally as an Apprenda Archive that includes a Deployment Manifest containing all of the application's settings as currently constituted at the time of export.  You can use the exported archive, complete with Deployment Manifest, to recreate your application along with its current settings.
  • You can choose to export only the Application Package, which will allow you to save the application locally as an Apprenda Archive which won't contain a Deployment Manifest.  This means that you will be able to use the exported archive to recreate your application, but it won't retain any of the current settings at the time of export.
  • Finally, you can choose to export the Manifest only.  This allows you to save all of your application's current settings in the form of a DeploymentManifest.xml file.  You can use this Deployment Manifest file to grant settings to another application or to recreate the settings you have in place for the current application (for more information on how to use a Deployment Manifest to configure settings for an Apprenda Archive, please see here).

Debugging a Java Application

If your application has a Java Web Application component, you are able to place the application into Debug mode by clicking the Start Debug button in the bottom menu bar.  Once you choose "Yes" on the confirmation prompt, all currently-deployed Java Web App instances will be undeployed, and a single one will be redeployed in Debug mode, which simply means that the deployed instance will allow connections from debuggers.  After the app has entered Debug mode, connection information will be displayed on the Dashboard tab, and you are able to use the connection string to hook onto the running instance with the debugger of your choice:

To take the application out of Debug mode, click the Stop Debug button in the bottom menu bar; the Debug instance will be undeployed, and previously undeployed workloads will be redeployed to place your app back in its normal running state.

Deleting an Application*

You can delete your application by clicking the Delete button in the bottom menu bar.  If more than one version of your application exists, you will then be prompted to choose whether to delete the currently-viewed version only, or to delete the application as a whole.  If only one application version exists, you can choose only to delete the app as a whole.  After selecting an option, then clicking "Yes" at the confirmation prompt, your application/app version will be permanently deleted.

*This option is also available for applications in the Definition stage.

Restoring an Application Version that is "In Maintenance"

When an application version is In Maintenance, end user access to the application is temporarily suspended and users will be redirected to a Maintenance page when attempting to launch the application.

An application version may enter the In Maintenance status in one of the following ways:

  • Your Platform Operator may manually place the application version into Maintenance through the System Operations Center in order to perform maintenance, update connection information, etc.
  • When promoting a patched version of an application (e.g., version 2), the promotion of the patched version fails, and the database for one or more tenant fails to "rollback" to the previous version (e.g., version 1).

Should you encounter an application version in this status, it is recommended that you contact your Platform Operator or DBA to diagnose and resolve the issue. Once you have determined that any necessary changes have been made and that all databases for the application are fully operational, you may click on the Restore button to restore end user access (in cases where a failed rollback has triggered the In Maintenance status, access to the previous version, not the patched version, will be restored).