This is documentation for Apprenda 7 and 8.
Documentation for newer version is available at https://new.docs.apprenda.com.

Creating and Removing Users

Creating a User Account

Select the Users option from the menu bar at the top of the screen.  This will take you to your Users page:

A list of your Organization’s current Users will appear in the table to the right.

To create a new Platform User, complete the fields on the left side of the page: 

  1. Enter a current e-mail address for the individual you would like to add as a User. This address will become the individual’s Username, and will serve as the method of contact by which your newly added User will be prompted with instructions for setting up a login password.
  2. Enter the User’s First and Last names.
  3. Click on the Add User button.  

Newly created Platform Users will be added to your Organization’s list of Users. In addition, Platform Users will be e-mailed instructions on how to set up passwords; upon completion, they will immediately be able to log in to the Account Portal and access any subscribed applications assigned to them (see below: Subscription Management).

To add an existing User that belongs to a different Tenant Account, simply type the user's email address in the appropriate field:

Once the Platform recognizes the inputted email address as belonging to an existing User, it will auto-fill First and Last Name information, which you will not be able to change.  Click the Add User button to complete the process.  Because the User already exists on the Platform and has a password, instructions on how to set up a password will not be sent.  When the User logs into the Platform, however, they will be required to choose a Tenant Account for any applications for which they have subscriptions under multiple Tenant Accounts.

A note on security: Apprenda encrypts User passwords stored on its system.  During the login authentication process, the password a User types in is first encrypted and then compared to the encrypted password stored on the system.  This means that Apprenda does not store or have access to unencrypted passwords.  Users who misplace their passwords must request to have their password reset.  Just as in the initial password set-up for newly added Users, a request to reset a password will trigger the system to contact the User by email with instructions for specifying a new password.

For Apprenda Platform instances with External User Store enabled: If your Platform instance is configured to use an External User Store instead of Apprenda's native User Store, your ability to add or remove users in the way described here may be disabled.

Deleting User Accounts

To delete a User and their contact information from the system permanently, return to the Users page by clicking on the Users link from the menu bar at the top of your screen.  Locate the User you wish to delete in the list of your Organization’s current Users.  Click on the red box containing the white “X” to the right of the User that you wish to delete.  Click “Yes” on the confirmation prompt to complete the process.